Andrew Linwood

Areen Design / Head of Hospitality

Andrew has designed insightful interiors for many of the world’s leading hotel operators including Hilton, Marriott-Starwood, Radisson, Accor, Hyatt, and InterContinental Hotels Group. The concept for each project is anchored in the site, situation, and cultural condition of the building and the community it inhabits. Andrew believes that a design can only be considered truly successful if it achieves integration with its local environment, he explains “Functionality and efficiency may drive returns, but any hospitality brand has to integrate the personality of the place and the people in each location.”

After gaining a degree in Interior Design in London and working in the UK and Europe, Andrew became Managing Director of regional Interiors group GTD in Hong Kong and Singapore. He went on to become Senior Project Designer with globally-renowned hospitality specialists Hirsch Bedner Associates in Singapore and London, designing luxury projects in Bangladesh, China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Russia, and Thailand.

On his return to the UK, he was invited to become an Associate at Richmond International – part of the Green Group – and in 2008 he established Areen Design’s award-winning Hospitality Division.

As Head of Areen Design’s Hospitality Division, Andrew is involved in, and monitors all aspects of a project: from initial client contact, brief and concept development through to documentation and site installation. His passion for delivering design solutions that add value, without compromising creative quality, is resolute.

As well as regularly featuring in hospitality publications, Andrew is a seasoned public speaker, frequently invited to leading industry events and exhibitions to share his unparalleled insight into design, and the challenges facing developers and operators in today’s socioeconomic climate.

Areen Design is currently working on projects across Europe, the Middle East, Africa, India, Central Asia, and China.

LinkedIn | Website

Past Jury